MSSU Student Affairs and the Joplin Area Chamber of Commerce Young Professionals network are partnering for a second year to offer the Super Leaders Program. The leadership development initiative was created to identify, cultivate and motivate future community leaders currently enrolled in college. The informative and thought provoking program introduces participants to career, entrepreneurship, and volunteer opportunities in the Joplin region.

Super Leaders also provides a strategic curriculum to enhance participants’ leadership skills through “Motive Matters” training and assists students with building a professional network.  A total of 11 students are accepted into the program each semester.

Any student who has a genuine interest in community leadership and wants to broaden his/her scope of knowledge beyond the current level is encouraged to apply.

There is a $25 application fee and scholarships are available to cover the application fee. Applications can be found at http://www.mssu.edu/career/student-super-leaders.php.

By the end of the Super Leader Program, participants will:

  • Cultivate and develop leadership skills
  • Better understand the community
  • See the Joplin Region in terms of the “big picture”
  • Gain valuable networking contacts
  • Learn about career opportunities in the community

Each session is different and designed to expose participants to all aspects of the day’s topic. Students are expected to attend all sessions but are allowed to miss one.

2013 Fall Program
*Application Due: August 28, 2013

Saturday, Sept. 7:  9 a.m.- 5 p.m., Leadership Development (mandatory)
Friday, Sept. 13:  1-6 p.m., Marketing, Media, and Advertising
Friday, Sept. 27:  1-6 p.m., Small Business and Economic Development
Friday, Oct. 11:  1-6 p.m., Non-Profit and Civic Organizations
Friday, Oct. 25:  1-6 p.m., Manufacturing and International Business
Friday, Nov. 8:  1-6 p.m., Healthcare and Business
Friday, Nov. 22:  1-6 p.m., Science and Technology
Saturday, Nov. 23:  2-3 p.m., Induction Ceremony (mandatory)

2014 Spring Program
*Application Due: January 22, 2014

Saturday, Feb. 1:  9 a.m. – 5 p.m.,  Leadership Development (mandatory)
Friday, Feb. 7:  1 – 6 p.m., Marketing, Media, and Advertising
Friday, Feb. 21:  1 – 6 p.m., Small Business and Economic Development
Friday, March 7:  1 – 6 p.m., Non-Profit and Civic Organizations
Friday, March 28:  1 – 6 p.m., Manufacturing and International Business
Friday, April 11:  1 – 6 p.m., Healthcare and Business
Friday, April 25:  1 – 6 p.m., Science and Technology
Saturday, April 26:  2 – 3 p.m., Induction Ceremony (mandatory)