businessThe Missouri Southern State University (MSSU) Collegiate DECA (C-DECA) club, is sponsored by the Robert W. Plaster School of Business (PSB) located in the Robert W. Plaster Free Enterprise Center.

The club recently battled the wintery weather to garner several prestigious honors at the C-DECA State Leadership Conference (SLC).  The event was held Feb. 21-22  at the Lodge of the Four Seasons in Lake Ozark.

The award winners have qualified for the International Career Development Conference (ICDC) and along with other club members will represent MSSU in the national C-DECA competition. The ICDC will be held April 17-21, 2013 in Anaheim, Calif.

This year’s MSSU team, led by outgoing State President, Cara Gooch (Soph., Marketing and Management, Bolivar), was awarded the State Community Service Award for their work with Show-Me Hunger: Unite the Fight Campaign which is the state C-DECA service initiative.

Individually, nine MSSU students received awards which were highlighted by Ryan Prisock’s (senior Finance and Economics major, Joplin) achievement of the state championship in Corporate Finance.

The team of Venus Day (junior General Business major from Lamar) and Raycee Thompson (junior Accounting major, Joplin) placed third in Business Ethics and Kyle Prisock (junior Undeclared major, Joplin) was the third place award winner in Travel and Tourism.

Also, the following students received Proficiency Awards:

* Cara Gooch (sophomore Marketing and Management major, Bolivar) in Retail Management;

* Cassie Smith (sophomore Management major, Savannah) in Human Resource Management;

* Raycee Thompson (junior Accounting major, Joplin) in Accounting;

* Tiffannie Roberts (junior Marketing major, Webb City) and Kara Sheppard (sophomore Marketing major, Harviell) in Fashion Merchandising and Marketing;

*Jacqueline Brown (senior International Business major, Cassville) and Cara Gooch (sophomore, Marketing and Management, Bolivar) in International Marketing.

Also, co-sponsor Megan Douglas, Instructor of Management, received the state Advisor of the Year award. Her nomination was submitted by the MSSU C-DECA chapter.

C-DECA prepares emerging leaders and entrepreneurs in marketing, finance, hospitality and management in high schools and colleges around the globe.