The 24th Annual Missouri Southern Regional Science Fair (MSRSF) will be held Tuesday, March 26 on the third floor of the Billingsly Student Center at Missouri Southern State University.    

This competition for high school and middle school students is affiliated with Society for Science and the Public and INTEL. Individual (not team) projects are accepted from students in the following counties: Vernon, Barton, Jasper, Newton, McDonald, Barry, Lawrence, Cedar and Dade in Missouri; Neosho, Crawford, Montgomery, Labette, Bourbon and Cherokee in Kansas.          

Students in grades 5-12 from numerous regional school districts will be present at their projects for judging from 9:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. on March 26.

Public viewing of the exhibits will be available from 1 – 5 p.m. that day.

Winners for both the Junior and Senior divisions will be announced at an awards presentation at 4:00 p.m. in Cornell Auditorium in the Robert W. Plaster Free Enterprise Center on the MSSU campus.  

Graduating Seniors who are winners in the eight senior division categories can receive a scholarship covering tuition for one semester at Missouri Southern. This scholarship is renewable for another semester with a minimum GPA. There are numerous other cash prizes and special awards.           

Two individual grand prizewinners in the senior division will advance to compete with approximately 1,200 other high school students from more than 700 countries for over $3 million in awards at the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair to be held May 12-17, 2013 in Phoenix, Ariz.

The Intel ISEF is considered the “Olympics” or “World Cup World Series” of science fairs.  Organized each year by the Society for Science & the Public (formerly Science Service, Inc.), the ISEF is the world’s only international science fair representing all sciences for students in grades 9 through 12.           

For more information on the Intel ISEF visit the following websites:

For information, contact Dr. Vickie Roettger at (417) 625-3176.

Senior Divsion:
Marionville High
Seneca High
Aurora High
St. Mary’s Colgan High (in Pittsburg, KS)
Columbus Unified High (Columbus, KS)
Bronaugh R-7
Carthage High 

Junior Division:
Bronaugh R-7
South Middle  (Joplin)
Carl Junction
East Middle (Joplin)
St. Peter’s Middle (Joplin)
North Middle (Joplin)
Liberal R-II
Central Middle/Columbus Unified (Columbus, KS)
East Middle (Joplin)