sputumbowl-2013-FirstStudents from the Consortium for Respiratory Care Education represented Missouri Southern State University and Franklin Technology Center at the May 2 Missouri Society for Respiratory Care State Conference at Osage Beach.

Three student “Sputum Bowl” teams (one team of first year students, one team of second-year students and one team of students from the first and second years of the program) competed against others schools in the state, including Missouri University-Columbia, Missouri State – West Plains, Rolla Technical Center, Concorde Career College in Kansas City, Cape Girardeau Career and Technical Center and St. Louis Community College-Forest Park.

The first year students (The Respir-Raiders) won first place.  That team will represent Missouri at the National competition in November in Anaheim, Calif.

The second year students (The Spit-Fires) took third place.

The team of first and second year students (The Pink Puffers) missed competing in finals by one point.

The names of the First Place first-year students, set to represent Missouri in Anaheim, Calif. in November are:

* Lia Nave, Carthage
* Alicia Brust, Carthage
* Amber Claymore, Neosho
* Holly Zullig, Mt. Vernon

Members of the Third Place second-year students are:

* Alice Christian, Fairland, Okla.
* Brittany Haper, Neosho
* Meggan Steverson, Carthage
* Clinton Cloud, Verona

Members of the additional team are:

* Alyssa Monroe, Joplin
* Meredith Moritz, Carl Junction
* Whitney Shafer, Galena, Kan.
* Kylie Schiermeier, Joplin




Photo Cutlines:


First Place Team (white shirts) –
Left to right: Lia Nave, Holly Zullig, Alicia Brust & Amber Claymore


Third Place Team (yellow shirts) –
Left to right: Clinton Cloud, Alice Christian, Brittany Haper & Meggan Steverson