Joplin, MO (SNS) – The Communication Department rolled out the red carpet during its annual awards ceremony held April 8 at Missouri Southern State University.

The Hollywood-style event was planned, coordinated and hosted by students as part of a project for their capstone class. Kristen Livingston – an assistant professor of communication – was recognized as the Communication Department Teacher of the Year for 2014-15.

Faculty members awarded students the following certificates:

KGCS-TV awards (presented by Judy Stiles):

Certificates of Appreciation – Brianna Allen, Oswego, Kan.; Makenzie Copeland, Carthage, Mo.; Deidra Morris, Carl Junction, Mo.; Alexander Bryant, Joplin.

Volunteer of the Year – Zachary Dodge, La Russell, Mo.

The Chart awards (presented by Olive Sullivan):

All Around Excellence – Brad Stout, editor in chief, Neosho, Mo.

Biggest Go-Getter – John Davidson, managing editor, Ash Grove, Mo.

Most Improved – Ian Taylor, sports editor, Lees Summit, Mo.

Outstanding Community Reporting – Kjersti McDonald, arts and features editor, Galena, Kan.

Outstanding Web Design – Robin Fjelstad, Goodman, Mo.

Step-Up Award – Molly Schons, second semester director of photography, Webb City, Mo.

Best Outreach – Terri-Lynn Frasher, first semester director of photography, Seneca, Mo.

Best Newcomer, Sports – Matthew Barney, sports, Joplin.

Best Voice – Kelvin Duley II, sports writer, Kansas City, Mo.

Best Newcomer, News – Aaron Weatherford, reporter, Springdale, Ark.

Participation – Kylie Ackerson, entertainment reporter, Joplin.

Participation – Levi Andrew, photographer, Joplin.

Outstanding Sports Photography – Kristen Stacy, photographer, Joplin.

John Davidson has also been named a finalist for Missouri College Media Association Journalist of the Year, which will be announced on April 11.

Crossroads magazine awards (presented by Rhonda Clark)

Superior service recognition – Jeremy Jones, assistant editor, El Dorado Springs, Mo.; and Taylor Kubicek, art director, Joplin.

Associate editors – Levi Andrew, Bethany Courtney, Molly Greer and Kristen Stacy, all of Joplin; Adelie Campbell, Mount Vernon, Mo.; Natalie Cossey, Carthage, Mo.; Molly Schons, Webb City, Mo.; and Aaron Weatherford, Springdale, Ark.

PRSSA awards (presented by Shanna Slavings)

Executive Board All-Star – Morgan LaDawn, Ash Grove, Mo.

Star Member – Daya Davenport, Joplin.

Star New Members – Taylor Best, Joplin; and Jada James, Florissant, Mo.

Best Campaign (new member dinner) – Morgan LaDawn.

Outstanding Volunteer – Parker Richardson, Nevada, Mo.

Ultimate PSA Award – Jodi Cantrell, Aurora, Mo.

Outstanding Members – Hannah Ishmael, Sand Springs, Okla.; and Jeremy Jones, El Dorado Springs, Mo.