Kansas City, Mo. – The MIAA office announced the Women’s Basketball All-MIAA teams this afternoon right ahead of the MIAA Post-Season Jones_Holcomb_All_MIAAtournament tip offs.

Senior Sharese Jones, who will finish her career in fourth place on the MSSU scoring chart with 1,394 points, earned a first team All-MIAA selection from the coaches. Jones is averaging 17.5 points and 6.5 rebounds per contest this season. Jones also is in the top five in the career rebounding list with 479 boards. Joining Jones on the All-MIAA first team was unanimous selection and MIAA Player of the Year LaQuinta Jefferson of Missouri Western, repeat selections Shelby Winkleman of Central Missouri and Kelly Moten of Emporia State, and Mikaela Burgess of Pittsburg State.

Junior Deb Holcomb was selected to the third team All-MIAA by the coaches. Holcomb is averaging 15.6 points and 4.0 rebounds per game. Holcomb, in her first year with the Lions, set a career mark with 26 points against Southwest Baptist in Joplin. Joining Holcomb on the third team was Jill Faxon of Fort Hays State, Erika Lane of Washburn, and Kathryn Flott and Sandra Ngoie of  Emporia State.

Tony Hobson of Fort Hays State and Lane Lord of Pittsburg State shared Coach of the Year honors with Caylee Richardson of Southwest Baptist earning  Freshman of the Year honors. Defensive Player of the Year honors went ot Kylie Gafford of Pittsburg State. The rest of the All-MIAA teams can be found below along with a link to the MIAA Post-Season Tournament Central Page.