Joplin, MO (SNS) – The 27th annual Missouri Southern Regional Science Fair and Missouri Junior Academy of Science presentations will be held Tuesday, March 29, in the third floor ballroom of Billingsly Student Center at Missouri Southern State University.

This year’s fair will include entries from 57 students in the junior category (grades 5-8) and 32 in the senior category (grades 9-12) from Bronaugh, Carl Junction, Carthage, College Heights, Galena, Joplin North and South, Liberal, and St. Peter’s Middle Schools, and Carl Junction, Carthage, Joplin, Marionville, Seneca, and Sheldon High Schools.

An awards ceremony for both the science fair and Missouri Junior Academy of Science will be held from 4 to 5 p.m. in Webster Hall’s Corley Auditorium.

First-place winners in the science fair will receive a scholarship to Missouri Southern (for graduating high-school seniors in the senior division), or a cash prize (for the junior division and all others in the senior division). Two senior and two junior division grand prize winners also will receive cash prizes. The two senior grand prize winners will also receive an all-expense paid trip to the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair, to be held May 8-13 in Phoenix, Ariz.

Closed judging will take place from 9:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m., with public viewing from 1 to 5 p.m.

Missouri Junior Academy of Science presentations will be from 1 to 3 p.m. in the Reynolds Annex. Students may enter both the science fair and junior academy with the same project.  The presentations and papers are judged and given a rating of I, II or III.  Both senior and junior participants are eligible for state competition on April 22 at Lincoln University in Jefferson City.

Afternoon science activities will be offered from 1 to 3:45 p.m. in Reynolds Hall, Reynolds Annex and the Ummel Technology Building. Special awards — ranging from an iPad to two $500 cash prizes —will be offered by a variety of sponsors.

Sponsors include:

  • Sergey Bedin and Lance Doubek with B Line Inc.
  • Calvin & Vickie Cassady with Ozark Gateway Audubon Society
  • Cardiology, Critical Care at Freeman Health System
  • Richard Falkenstein with Dental Care Center
  • Macy’s Department Store
  • James Jackson
  • Les Olson with Sidecars Inc. and WiseApp Inc.
  • Luke Nugent Memorial Inc.
  • MSSU Caduceus Club
  • MSSU Chemistry Club
  • MSSU Environmental Health Club
  • Victoria Timoschenko with Executive Tailoring
  • Perry Thomas Physical Science Award;
  • Pro 100 Inc. Realtors
  • S. Air Force
  • Vogel Properties