Joplin, Mo. —  Missouri Southern senior guard Taevaunn Prince is one of 13 finalists for the Bevo Francis Small College Basketball Player of the Year award, the organization announced today. prince other

The Clarence “Bevo” Francis Award is presented annually to the player who has had the finest overall season within Small College Basketball.  Considerations will be season statistics and individual achievements, awards, personal character and team achievements.
“Clearly, all of the finalists for the Bevo Francis Award are very good players who have had outstanding seasons for very good teams,” said SCB Founder, John McCarthy. “Our committee has done outstanding research on these players, both as players and as people, and we are proud to announce these 13 finalists.    

“While this is an individual award, we genuinely take into strong consideration how the players have helped their team reach tremendous success. Obviously, we look at individual statistics, awards and milestones reached, yet we also consider how candidates have demonstrated strong personal character. With all of these factors considered, these 13 players are truly elite.”

Prince was on the initial list of 100 and made the cut of 50 on February 15. Small College Basketball will announce the winner in the coming weeks.

Prince was a unanimous first-team All-MIAA selection this season and was also an All-Region, All-District and All-American selection. He led Division II this season in scoring, free throws made and free throws attempted. He also ranked fifth in total points, 11th in defensive rebounds, 15th in rebounds per game and 19th in both total field goals made and total rebounds. He also ranked 22nd in double-doubles, tuning in 13 on the season.

Prince led the MIAA in defensive rebounds, double-doubles, field goal percentage, free throws attempted and made, scoring and total rebounds. He ranked second in rebounds per game and total points. He had ten 30-point games this season, and scored 20 points or more in all but three games, as well as 15 points or more in every game.

He holds the MSSU and MIAA record for single-season made FT’s (273) and is the MSSU career record holder for single-season points (791). He also is the MSSU Record holder in single season (26.4) and career scoring average (21.4), while scoring the most career points (1,303) for a two-year player in MSSU history.

Prince and Justin Pitts from Northwest Missouri are the lone MIAA representatives on the list. The complete list is below.

Andy Avgi, Western Oregon

Yunio Barrueta, Barry

Seger Bonifant, West Liberty

Dominez Burnett, Davenport

Joey Flannery, Babson

Tyree Gaiter, Notre Dame

Dan Jansen, Augustana

Jonny Marlin, Indiana Wesleyan

Andre Norris, Dubuque

Justin Pitts, Northwest Missouri

Taevaunn Prince, Missouri Southern

Casey Schilling, Augustana

Ryan Stephan, Colorado Mesa