Joplin, MO – The Board of Governors at Missouri Southern State University will meet at 1 p.m. Friday, Nov. 18, in the Billingsly Student Center Boardroom.

An agenda is included in the attached meeting packet. If any media representative has questions or problems opening the attached files, please contact Board Secretary Sharon Odem at 417-625-9501 or

During the meeting, seven retired faculty members will be recognized for receiving faculty emeritus status.

Those who have been recommended for emeritus status by their faculty peers are:

  • Al Carnine: School of Arts & Sciences, retired in 2014.
  • Beverly Block: School of Business, retired in 2016.
  • Theresa Agee: School of Business, retired in 2016.
  • Grace Ayton: School of Health Sciences, retired in 2016.
  • Jim Gray: School of Business, retired in 2011.
  • John Tiede: School of Business, retired in 2001.
  • Patricia Murphy: School of Arts & Sciences, retired in 2016.

Faculty emeritus status is granted as a result of meritorious service to the university, including significant contributions in areas such as teaching, job performance, and scholarly and creative activities. In order to be eligible, faculty must hold the rank of associate or full professor after a minimum of 15 years of service. It is typically not awarded until retirement or, in some cases, posthumously.

Nominations for faculty emeritus start at the departmental level and must be approved by the dean of each school before then being approved by the provost and university president, and then voted on by the board.

A reception for the faculty emeritus honorees will be held in Conner Ballroom following the meeting