The annual Academic Achievement Recognition ceremony was held April 26 at Missouri Southern State University.

The ceremony included introductions by Dr. Paula Phillips Carson, provost/vice president for academic affairs.

Department Awards were presented by the Deans of the School of Arts & Sciences, the Robert W. Plaster School of Business, the School of Education and the School of Health Sciences. The Spencer-Bartlett Respect Awards were presented by Darren Fullerton, vice president for student affairs and enrollment management.

Individual Awards
Outstanding Graduate Award
Blair Freed

Melanie Cox Memorial Award for Outstanding Honors Student

Blair Freed

National Business Education Award
Darren Fichtner

Robert J. Greef Award
Shelly Greninger

Spencer – Bartlett Respect Award

First Place:
Blair Freed
Timothy Arr

Second Place:
Dana Stiles
Trent Hayes

Third Place:
Nicole Knoblauch
Caleb Stevens

Fourth Place:
Monica White
Gabe Patterson

School of Arts and Sciences Awards
Presented by Dr. Richard Miller, Dean

Taylor Green (Graphic Design)
Luke Blevins ( Studio)

James Moulton


Blair Freed
Andrew Buckner
Terrence Kelly

Garrett Ward

Chemistry Education
Michael Manley

Criminal Justice
Benjamin Allen Dodge
Bethany Danae Gardner
Courtney T. Paxton

Dakota Bastings

English Education
Shelly Greninger

Environmental Health & Safety
Timothy Arr

Malorie Menefee

Law Enforcement
Sarah Gwen Scott
Stefani J. Thomas

Mass Communication
Sierra Gray

Keith J. Geller

Modern Language – French
Emily Campbell

Paige Burris

Music Education
Zachary Pettit

Matthew O’Dell

Political Science
Duncan C. Street

Public Relations
Emily Harris

Social Science Education – BSE
Andrew D. Ward


Shawna M. Jones
Katie Long

Kristin Youts

Institute of International Studies|
Presented by Dr. Richard Miller, Dean

International Studies
Lauren Fenske

Robert W. Plaster School of Business
Presented by Dr. Chris Moos, Interim Dean

Kayla Bartelsmeyer
Jie Li
Katie Miller

Business Education
Darren Fichtner

Computer Information Science – B.S.
Evan Bass
Anja Subasic
Caleb Stevens

Christopher D. Kilinger

Garrett Jones

General Business
Katherine Jami Coatney

International Business
Esther I. Aidelomon

Industrial Engineering Technology
Jessica Crawford

Madison McDonnell
Kandace Eck

Manufacturing Engineering Technology
Andrew T. Morton

Alison Sauer
Juanita Fergison


School of Education
Presented by Dr. Deb Brown, Dean

Elementary Education
Rachel Berryhill
Lakyn Frey
Stacy Smith

Health Promotion & Wellness
Mitchell S. Moore

Middle School Education
Emily Edson

Physical Education
Preston Sharp

Sadie Flood
Dana Stiles

School of Health Sciences
Presented by Dr. Rick Schooler, Dean

Dental Hygiene
Hannah Housewright
Courtney Catron

Health Science
Chelsea Lane Cave
Emily Olivia Massey
Rose Corinne Peacock

Elisabeth Anderson
Abby Terry

Jeremy Gustafson

Respiratory Therapy
Allison Banze

Honors Program Graduates
Presented by Dr. Michael Howarth, Director of Honors Program

Fall 2016
Lauden Baker
Kendra Hamilton
Zachary Pettit
Mackenzie Christensen
Katie Miller
Nicholas Reddy

Spring 2017

Ashley Abeyta
Emily Campbell
Sarah Flowers
Blair Freed
Taylor Gaines
Sierra Gray
Trent Hayes
Rokey Jammeh
Allison Knewtson
Bria Lamica
Emily Massey
Madison McDonnell
Victoria O’Dell
Johnny Presley, Jr.
Zadok Self
Drake Smelser
Dana Stiles
Duncan Street
Anja Subasic
Garrett Ward
Monica White
Lauren Young

Alpha Chi – Seniors ’16 – ‘17

Presented by Dr. Paula Carson
Courtney Adrian
Esther Aidelomon
Allison Banze
Rachel Berryhill
Deana Burch
Hannah Burdick
Elizabeth Burken
Ashley Burns
Cooper Caldwell
Jacob Calvin
Monica Clement
Kelsey Davis
Nathanael Day
April Enslen
John Erie
Hannah Ernst
Juanita Ferguson
Kaitlin Fraser
Lakyn Frey
Hannah Fuller
Taylor Gaines
Ciara Garfield
Taylor Garrett
Samantha Gilgen
Lacy Hadaegh
Lisbeth Haddox
Miranda Hale
Chloe Hargrove
Allie Heckmeyer
Hannah Housewright
David Irvine
Dwight Isenhower
Shawna Jones
Sharon Kailer
Taylor Kean
Heather Kimbrough
Nicole Knoblauch
Abraham Laughlin
Loren Lay
Taylor Martin
Robyne Maxville
Madison McDonnell
Caleb Miller
Brittany Minear
James Moulton
Emily Nichols
Eryn Perryman
Nicole Procino
Dillion Remshardt
Faith Reynolds
Lisha Reynolds
Alexandra Ritter
Hailey Roughton
Tinsley Rutledge
Grace Scheidemantle
Ashlann Shroyer
Holly Simmons
Deanna Smith
Staci Sonntag
Ashley Starrett
Savanah Stoufer
Emily Trejo
Veronica Wasson
Breanna Watkins
Amanda Welch
Sierra Wells
Annie White
Danielle York