The Writing Program Committee at Missouri Southern State University recently announced student and faculty winners for the 2016-17 Writing Excellence Awards.

Student awards recognize excellent papers written for 200-level courses and above. The faculty awards recognize the writing assignments used by instructors in 200-level courses and above.

Student awards

The committee selected six student winners, each of whom received $250. During the recent all-faculty meeting, the students were recognized along with the faculty members who nominated them.

Aaron Cox, senior nursing major, Verona, Mo., “A Challenging Patient.” Nominated by Patricia Hempsmyer

Emily Edson, senior middle school-language arts major, Golden City, Mo., “Analytical Introduction of ‘The Lottery’” / “After ‘The Lottery’” / “Response and Analysis of ‘The Lottery.’” Nominated by Dr. Amy Gates.

Jack Ginger, senior economics major, Papillion, Neb., “The Effect of Unemployment on New Business Formation.” Nominated by Dr. Jonathon Adongo.

Heather Kimbrough, senior history major, Diamond, Mo., “Depiction of the Axis in World War II Propaganda.” Nominated by Dr. Megan Bever.

Olivia Massey, senior biology major, Joplin, “A Difficult Decision.” Nominated by Patricia Hempsmyer.

Dylan Maxwell, senior biology, Webb City, Mo., “Beneficence versus Nonmaleficence: When ‘Do No Harm’ Hurts.” Nominated by Patricia Hempsmyer.

Faculty awards

Two Missouri Southern faculty members also received $250 awards for writing assignments.

Dr. Maggie Beacher, “Chaotic Classrooms.”

Dr. Nicholas Nicoletti, “American Foreign Policy – Simulation 1.”