Two faculty members and six students at Missouri Southern have been announced as
winners of the 2018 Writing Excellence Awards.

The faculty awards recognize the writing assignments used by instructors in 200-level
courses and above. Student awards recognize excellent papers written for 200-level
courses and above.

Winners, selected by the university’s Writing Program Committee, each received $250.
The two faculty winners were announced during the recent all-faculty meeting.

Dr. Carissa Gober, assistant professor of teacher education: “Langston Hughes’ poem
‘I, Too, Sing America Assignment.”

Dr. Lezlie Cantrell, associate professor of dental hygiene: “Assignment: Oral
Pathology Case Study.”

The six student winners were nominated by their professors. When possible, the
students were recognized and received their awards in class from members of the
Writing Program Committee, along with the nominating faculty members.

Tyler Coleman, junior political science major, Joplin: “The Power of Property Rights
– A Theory of Trade Flows and Independent Judiciaries.” Nominated by Dr. Nicholas

Mariah Frazier, senior English major, Joplin: “Sensibility in Mary, A Fiction.”
Nominated by Dr. Amy Gates.

Emma Miller, sophomore art major, Joplin: “Formal Paper: World Literature.
Nominated by Dr. Zak Watson.

Deanna Smith, senior secondary education-social sciences/history, Joplin: “To Be Cajun – The Nationalism of Cajun Population of South Louisiana.” Nominated by Dr. William

Caleb House, recent industrial engineering technology graduate, McAlester, Okla.:
“Reducing Defects at IFS Assembly – IET 471 Senior Design.” Nominated by Dr. Elke

Nolan Rhyne, senior marketing major, Olathe, Kan.: “Sushilicious Marketing Plan.”
Nominated by Professor Doug Myers.