Students from the Department of Communication at Missouri Southern State University were honored for their involvement at KGCS-TV – and the recipients of the Ruth I. Kolpin Broadcast Scholarship were announced – during a departmental awards ceremony on Wednesday, April 3.


The awards are as follows:

Certificates of Appreciation

Alyssa Brown

Lauren Brown

Carola Stahl

Ashlea Zumwalt


Volunteer of the Year

Sean Gordon


Producers of the Year

Abby West

Maddy West


Program of the Year

“Southern Nights”


Students of the Year

Abby West

Maddy West


Ruth I. Kolpin Broadcast Scholarship winners

Raeann Garrison-Law

Dillon Noblett


The Kolpin scholarship is endowed, and was established in 2008 to honor Ruth Kolpin – considered to be one of the broadcasting pioneers in Southwest Missouri. Awards are presented to students majoring in mass communication who will be a junior or senior in the fall semester.

KGCS-TV operates as a service of the communication department at Missouri Southern State University.