The Writing Program Committee at Missouri Southern State University has announced the winners of the 13th annual Student Writing Excellence Awards.

The awards acknowledge excellent writing assignments completed during the spring, summer and fall semesters of 2019.

The winners in each category are:


1st – Lauren Brown, Joplin (Southern Broadcasters Club)

Honorable Mention – Shea Schrader, Joplin (Into the Floodwaters)


Evidence Based Writing

1st – Gabrielle Hill, Camdenton, Mo. (The Genetic Analysis of the Ebony and Eyeless Genes in the Drosophila Fruit Fly)

2nd – Veronica Nguyen, Webb City (Forensic Nature:  Decomposition Through Impacts of Ecosystems)

Honorable Mention – Kennedee French, Joplin (Genetic Crosses Using Eyeless and Vestigial Traits in Drosophila melanogaster)


Emerging Writer

1st – Gracie Allan, Belton, Mo. (Symbolic Interactionism)

Honorable Mention – Taylor Powell, Springdale, Ark. (Social Class and Social Stratification)


Business and Technical Writing

1st – Niki Day, Joplin (Psychological Induced Asthma)

2nd – Nathaniel Hitchcock, Carthage (Freeman PACU Clinical Observation)

Honorable Mention – Rhianna Rickett, Lamar (Closing Your Skills Gap)


The Writing Committee has also announced the winners of the annual Faculty Writing Excellence Awards, which acknowledge innovative writing assignments.

This year’s winners are:

Dr. Jennifer Stegall, assistant professor of teacher education – Literacy Data Collection and Analysis (EDUC 470)

Dr. Kyle Gustafson, assistant professor of biology and environmental health – Empowering Students to Think and Write Like Biologists:  A Multiweek, Inquiry-Based, Fruit Fly Writing Project (BIO 305)