Three students from Missouri Southern State University received first-place honors in the Missouri Broadcast Educators Association’s annual College Media Awards competition.

A total of 166 entries were received for this year’s contest, with Missouri Southern taking home four awards.

“Our students work hard every day and produce award-winning content,” said Bobbie Pottorff, general manager of KGCS-TV.

First place awards:

Basketball Play-by-Play – Stephen Sehrbrock, Purdy, Mo., and Tanner Marshall, Monett, Mo.

Audio Special Programs & Podcasts – Dayzah Kelly, Joplin, for her program “Out of the Dark.”

Video Public Service Announcement – Zach Mitchell, Joplin, for his PSA “Gold Promo” about the National Guard.

In addition, students Dillon Noblett, Joplin, and Ryenn Story, Carthage, received third-place recognition in the Special Programs & Podcasts category for “Newsmakers: Career in Review.”